Department of motor vehicles or DMV is a government agency that administers vehicle registration and driver licensing and every state in the USA has its own agency, including New Jersey. What documents to collect and what are the fees? This is why we explained the New Jersey DMV change of address, so you don’t have to lose time.
How to New Jersey DMV Change of Address works
Reasons for moving to NJ are different, job offer, affordable homes in NJ, education, being closer to NYC, it is cheaper than NY, etc. No matter what your reason for moving to this state is, if you want to drive, there are some steps to take.
DMV is responsible for:
- Driver certification
- Vehicle registration
- Vehicle ownership
- Law enforcement
- General identification
- Liquor ID
As you can see, there is a wide range of areas where DMV is responsible. In the case of moving and changing the home address, you need to contact them and to change the address in your license and your vehicle’s registration. If you are moving state to state, there are more documents to collect.
Moving your vehicle
First of all, you need to organize vehicle transportation if you won’t drive to NJ. This task can be easily done with a professional moving company specialized in this area. Research NJ movers online and hire the best one such as bluebellmovingandstorage.com.
Moving within NJ
Even if you are moving within the state, keep in mind that you will need to change the address, so your driver’s license needs to be updated too. You can get help with the transportation, but the paperwork documents you need to finish by yourself.
You have 1 week to update your New Jersey driver’s license if you want to update your registration. Both of these tasks MUST BE finished within 7 days after relocation. Fill out a New Jersey DMV change of address form online or driver’s license office in person. The costs will be $11. Required documents are valid New Jersey driver’s license number, social security number, and a new address.
Moving from another state to NJ
If you are coming from another state to NJ, to organize your moving like a pro, prepare documents for vehicle transportation. Now, you need to get a new driver’s license.
You cannot do the New Jersey DMV change of address online, so make an appointment in advance. Also, you must be 21 years old or older to transfer your license. You will need ID and secondary proof of identity, social security number, and proof of New Jersey residency. It will cost you $24 every four years. After moving, you have 60 days to get a state driver’s license. For vehicle registration, you have 60 days and the registration fee will be between $36 and $84.